Historic Grooms Tavern
Located at 290 Sugar Hill Road in Rexford, NY
The Friends of Grooms Tavern was developed independent of the town to assist in fundraising and programming.
Don't Miss This When Visiting
Scheduled tours of the building, the newly restored outhouse, and the infamous headstone found during reconstruction!
Older residents of Clifton Park remember it as Klingbeil’s store, others may remember it as the Emporium. Historic Grooms Tavern has been a witness to much of our Town’s history. From Clifton Park’s first Town Board meeting on April 1, 1828 and beyond, much history happened here and is even recorded on its walls!
The Groom’s Tavern, wagon and blacksmith shops not only represent the commercial history of the town, but also have direct ties to transportation systems that were so critical to the development of Clifton Park.
After being abandoned for over a decade, the Town of Clifton Park, New York purchased Historic Grooms Tavern in 1999. The building was restored through the assistance of Community volunteers, Town staff, & New York State grants and was re-opened as a historical and cultural center on Saturday April 14, 2007. Currently, visitors can attend historical programs, lectures, acoustic concerts, youth programs and a multitude of other activities in this beautiful historical site.
Related Sites Or Experiences
Vischer Ferry Nature and Historic Preserve