Saint-Ours National Historic Site
Tolls, Passes and Permits
Single lockage, single lockage & return, and one day permits for locks along Parks Canada’s historic canals are available only in facilities located along waterways as well as at boat shows taking place in 2015.
Seasonal lockage and mooring permits, transit permits or six-day permits can be purchased online as well as at Parks Canada facilities on the historic canals. Visit the Parks Canada Website for the complete fees information.
For More Information
For boating technical facts, promotions, current news, events calendar and more, visit the Parks Canada Website at http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/lhn-nhs/qc/saintours/index.aspx.
Known as the tenth lock of the Richelieu and opened in 1849, the Saint-Ours Canal is a continuation of the Chambly Canal, bypassing the final obstacle to navigation between the St. Lawrence River and Lake Champlain. The canal runs along the eastern bank of the Richelieu River, about 23 km upstream from the town of Sorel.
Like the Chambly Canal, the Saint-Ours Canal played an increasingly important role until the beginning of the 19th century, to which the Canadian-American business era was at its height on the Richelieu River. The canal was essential to the development of regional, national and international trade, which used this waterway for over a century.
Today, the Saint-Ours Canal is open to pleasure boating and lockage services are offered to boaters during the operating season. Wide spaces, rest areas and picnic tables are provided along the canal. Visitors can hike the verdant trail on Darvard Island and read the interpretation panels that provide information on local plants and wildlife. Parks Canada also offers, in partnership with the Friends of the St-Ours Canal, a variety of activities during the summer season.
Season And Hours Open
Every year, from mid-May to mid-October. Visit the Parks Canada Website for the detailed *Hours of Operation*.